All Saints’ was founded in the 19th century; American and British merchants and missionaries formed the core of the English-speaking congregation. The first Anglican bishop in Jerusalem arrived from the United Kingdom via Beirut in 1841. The first baptism recorded in our archives was in 1847.
The present church building came into being through the efforts of members of that community and the Ernest Joly family who gave the land, fund-raised and built the church. The foundation stone was laid in 1912, but the project was delayed by the first world war. The building was consecrated in 1929. All Saints’ International Congregation (ASIC) continues to serve an English-speaking community drawn from around 30 nationalities.
Since 1948 there has been an Arabic-speaking congregation from mainly of Palestinian origin. Worship services in Arabic are at 9.30 on Sunday mornings, with refreshments afterwards in the Church hall downstairs. This is a good time to meet our sister congregation before our 11:15 am service.
We celebrated our 100th anniversary in 2012, and our centennial project is to build more Sunday School rooms. A new All Saints’ Square is being de-signed around us, as part of a landscape scheme called Beirut Shoreline Walk. We hope to continue developing our mission with our unique history in this strategic location.